Thursday, October 11, 2012
Pictures from September
So, I'm just putting them all in one post.
We went on a field trip to a nature park. They had a little class about turtles and they sang some songs and had loads of fun :-)
Tuesday, October 9, 2012
looking pretty
Sunday, October 7, 2012
Saturday, October 6, 2012
Friday, October 5, 2012
Javan made the news
The video is at the bottom. There are commercials in-between so don't stop watching because of a commercial (he's in the clip after the first commercial). He's right in front with a batman shirt on.
http://www.kshb.com/subindex/weather/weather_experts
Thursday, October 4, 2012
Homeschool this week
He went with a friend to Science City on Wednesday and then on Thursday he got to learn about weather with our local weather guy, Gary Lezak
Click to link to see a pic
http://www.kshb.com/gallery/weather/weather_experts/gary--stormy-visit-local-homeschoolers
When exactly have we had any time to do school?!?!? haha. Well, its really only a few hours a day so we just squeeze it in the mornings or while I'm making dinner, worse case we save the fun art/science projects for the weekend. Its amazing how there is plenty of time and if we get a little behind we just push things back until we make it up. I control the time-line.
Our school experience has been pretty smooth and fairly easy. Javan is a quick learner and the curriculum hasn't been too terribly challenging
Until this week.
Before this week my reasons for loving homeschooling Javan might have been a bit different.
The curriculum we use for Math is "Singapore Math". Apparently, its one of the best math programs out there. I was none-the-wiser, I didn't choose it.. it was what was given to me with the virtual charter school.
Here is the deal with Singapore Math - they teach more than just "how to do math" but they teach math techniques in elementary school that make upper level math quicker and easier to understand (or so I am told).
Here is the deal with Javan - he is excellent with addition and subtraction. He can add and subtract in his head rather accurately and fairly quickly. He does not like to use his fingers either. He just does it in his head. Its really crazy watching him do it. (eh hem.. .I still add with my fingers). But, his little brain can't wrap around the technique that the book is trying to teach him. He gets the right answer but doesn't get there the "right" way.
Now, if he was in public school and the teacher marked his work wrong because he wasn't doing it "the right way" I would be all upset about it because he's getting the right answer so why does it matter HOW he gets there.
But, since I'M the teacher, I can't really get mad at myself. (Well, I can but that's strongly discouraged) Instead, I can look ahead through the teacher's manual... understand why they are teaching him what they are teaching him... and think of ways to teach him that works for HIM. As an individual. (This technique lays a foundation for being able to teach some more difficult skills in a much easier way... but if he never learns this technique - whether he chooses to use it or not - he will be lost later in the year)
I can also rearrange things a little so we can spend more time on this math skill until we know he's got it right.
So, today we put the math books away. We were both getting frustrated and not getting anywhere. Tonight Lance and I looked through the Math curriculum, talked it through and have a game plan that I'm pretty confident will work for Javan.
I guess its the control freak in me but I love that. I just love being able to slow it down when its challenging and speed it up when its super easy. I love having control over his learning instead of waiting to see what the test scores say. I love when he asks me (which he does every time for some reason) "what if I get them wrong" when I give him a test - I can say "Then we will go back and learn from our mistakes" instead of having a grade dictate to him what kind of student he is.
In our school - as long as he is learning, he is a good student and I love that.
Tuesday, October 2, 2012
Woolies
Sunday, September 30, 2012
A big week
Tuesday we were all ready to head to a field trip when I could not find my keys anywhere. I walked to the park the day before and I'm still (even now) now sure if I dropped them along the way or just misplaced them... but after loading the kids in the car and ready to drive off to the beanstalk garden, I sadly, had to unpack the kids and break the news that we weren't going anywhere (the spare set was in Lance's car at work).
Then, on Wednesday we had a field trip planned to go to the local farmstead and it got rained out. So, I took them to the library and managed to lose my wallet! oi. Lance did find that for me.
I could go on.. it was just one bad thing after another... but the week did get a little better. I had a midwife appt and got to hear the baby's heartbeat and everything is looking good and we had a friend over and got to have some mommy adult time while Javan played with his new friend. And Friday, of course, is park day... always something we all look forward to so we can get together with our homeschooling friends.
Cosette, on the other hand, had a spectacular week. She learned how to wave. Finally mastered the on the knee crawling (well, one knee and one foot... I must get that on video) - maybe now her shirts won't get AS filthy since with the army crawl she was simultaneously sweeping the floor with her clothes. She pulled herself up for the first time. She is still mastering this still - sometimes she can get herself to standing and others she just ends up on her knees. AND she cut her first tooth :-)
What a big girl!! Ok, not big... she is only 13.8 pounds. haha but she's doing all the things a normal almost 10 month old should be doing.
Friday, September 14, 2012
Ultrasound pics
IT'S A GIRL!
Sunday, September 9, 2012
But... my back has been hurting a little these days and I've been quite tired so Daddy decided to do the duty of carrying Cosette.
Friday, August 31, 2012
Lance got the part (for free since we are still under warrantee) and fixed it when he got home from work. LOVE being married to a guy who knows how to fix things :-)
Yesterday it was hot. The temp outside was over 100 and we were roasty but we survived.
Now, about 30 min after Lance fixed the AC - I noticed that the thermostat screen was blank.
This he could not fix.
I don't know if it was just coincidence or if its related to the original AC problem... but the AC still works... just a blank screen on the thermostat.
Luckily for us, the thermostat is actually owned by KCP&L so today they will be coming out to replace it.... for free.
In the meantime, there is no way to turn the AC on or off or adjust the temperature. I'm sure I can go outside and pull a plug or something if times were desperate but its not too bad.
Tuesday, August 28, 2012
School at its best
Ok this is nothing like a typical day at The Ferris Acadamy. In fact, most days Javan doesn't get any technology time until after Harrison goes home BUT today was an exception and this picture was too cute not to share.
Let's see this week we went to wonderscope - a children's museum and I started feeling the baby bump a little in my tummy. I love that!
Tonight the virtual charter school is hosting a dinner party at the pool. This isn't our normal group of homeschool friends so it will fun to meet some new friends!!
Saturday, August 25, 2012
Bye bye nursing baby
So its official. Cosette has completely given up nursing.
I've read that its pretty common for your milk supply to diminish due to pregnancy. I tried to hold on as long as possible but every day it was just less and less...she would try to nurse and then just start crying out of frustration. 2 days ago was the last time I've nursed her.
Heartbreaking. Truly. I feel like she really is getting the short end of the stick. But that's life and so we move on.
I spoke with our chiropractor about the formula (he actually makes his own as well and was planning on putting it on the market but the cost was too great) and the only thing he said he would do differently was to use coconut milk/almond milk as the base instead of the barley milk I was making. They are just THAT much more nutrient dense.
So we made our own coconut milk today and it was soooooo super easy. Much easier than almond milk, I think.
And there you have it. I left out the Kale because I forgot so it will be more green in the morning. Waiting onn our cod liver oil shipment so I can add in the dha .... other than that...we are formula making machines! Haha
Monday, August 20, 2012
A busy week!
A lot of mom's were posting first day of school pictures. So, we decided to post this one of Javan... yes he is in his jammies. haha. That was kind of intentional. A funny family joke that its cool to school in jammies.
We were working on the letter A with Harrison... hence the "astronaut" and "artist"
Cosette has decided she doesn't want to nurse anymore. I'm not sure if its just her deciding its time to give it up on her own...or the pregnancy...or something else. But I offer and offer and she pushes me away.
She will nurse in the morning but that is all. Even middle of the night if she wakes she doesn't want to nurse.
And since I don't think 1 feeding a day is enough and I also prefer not to feed her formula since its chemical content is quite contrivercial. I have decided to make my own formula.
I know..its green/brown and looks totally gross but she likes it and I know what is in it....
Thursday...well...that was one of those days when everything was a little crazy. Its all good..it definitely could have been worse!
Friday was the big zoo day. Yes, I am crazy enough to push 2 babies in a double stroller with a 2 yo by my side and a 6yo up ahead on his scooter.
There were a whole bunch of homeschool families there but no good way to coordinate such a huge group so we all just went our separate ways. We went with our friend Michelle and her 3 boys. I am drawing a blank what the youngest name is but the two older ones, James and Ryan, were so much fun and they totally hit it off :-)
Then Sunday...We bought a fridge!! It was a much needed purchase. 1. our fridge is so full each week that we can't see anything. we really needed an extra fridge in the garage. 2. our fridge has been leaking water all over our kitchen floor.
We scored our fridge on craigslist for $500 and it is practically brand new. I couldn't sleep last night I was so excited :-D
Ok enough of my morning wasted trying to write this... back to schooling and playing and loving life.
Thursday, August 9, 2012
A new Journey
Monday was my first day without work and I didn't have Ivy and Harrison yet either so I decided to have a date day with Javan.
He decided to go to the pool. Shana babysat Cosette.... our first time leaving her with anyone but us. I was nervous but Aunt Shana seemed to have it under control and she had a very good little helper too...Seth.
Meanwhile Javan and Luke and I hit the pool. Javan decided he wanted to jump off the low dive....
I held my breath and stayed close in case he need mamma to rescue him...
Wednesday, August 1, 2012
Happy Birthday Mom!
Today is my mom's birthday!
We sent this card to her
(and actually sent the same one to Lance's dad whose birthday was on Sunday)
The front of the card was this picture.

Then inside it had this picture
inside it read:
Ready or not...
A new grandbaby will be coming soon!
Happy Birthday!
Love Lance, Merrie, Javan, Cosette, and baby
**************
At my postnatal exam the doctor told me that my uterus was tilted back so I would have a problem ever getting pregnant again. He was soooo wrong. (Not that I'm surprised...he had a tendency to over react).
Also, I was exclusively breastfeeding. I know that breastfeeding is not a form of birth control and I know a lot of people (including Lance's parents) who got pregnant early on while breastfeeding.
But, in those cases the mom always supplemented with formula or was weening.
Cosette NEVER had anything but breastmilk for the first 6 months of her life and i definitely wasn't weening at all.
Anyway, Lance and I had wanted our kids close together. I have this rule that I didn't want to get pregnant after 35. With the diabetes, I'm already high risk and adding the high risk factor that goes along with age in the mix didn't sound like a good idea.
Plus, I am looking forward to enjoying my husband when our kids are grown...
We just decided to let God handle it
and as I told Lance when I told him that I was pregnant
"God must have thought you were such a great dad he wanted to give you another one right away!"
We have no idea when our due date is. We will have to have an ultrasound to figure that out, but my educated guess is mid February.
My blood sugars are back to wacky and I am working hard to control them. At least I know what to do!!
oh and, ironically, about a month or two before I found out I was pregnant I had a dream that I was pregnant with a boy. :-) I guess I need to pay closer attention to my dreams. haha.
My dream with Cosette came true so its definitely a possibility - i know Javan would be happy to have a little brother.
Speaking of Javan. He is thrilled. And woke up this morning wanting to kiss the baby. love him!






















